Shooting the Renegade

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CoHiCntry

Reaction score
I made it out  today to try the T/C Renegade I'm hoping to use this hunting season.  I'm relatively new to using sidelocks.  I started with 70 grains of T7, a 425 grain Great Plains bullet and a Remington <a href='/tags/11' rel='nofollow' title='See all tagged subjects with: #11'>#11</a> cap.  I was only shooting at 25 yards.  I mostly wanted to shoot it and make sure everything appeared to be functioning well.  I had no problems.  No hangfires or misfires that I was told might happen with a <a href='/tags/11' rel='nofollow' title='See all tagged subjects with: #11'>#11</a> and T7.  I only shot 6 times though.  The only issue is it has a hair trigger!  To much so for me.  I need to see about adjusting it.  You barely put your finger on the trigger and it goes off.  It startled me on my first shot.  As you can see the first shot is off to the left and a little lower than the others.  The remaining 5 shots grouped well but it's only 25 yards.  I'll increase my range to 50 yards next time and slowly work up to 100 yards.  Hopefully it will remain shooting good out to that distance.

Got a question... whats the half cocked position of the hammer used for?  In that position I wasn't able to cap the gun which is what I assumed that position is for?  Also the double set triggers are gonna be hard to get used to.

Another question... I was swabbing after every two shots and using the nipple pick at this time too.  I was assuming using the pick was the same as using a drill bit in the breech plug of my inlines?  Is this a common time to be using the nipple pick?

I also got a chance to use my new Caldwell "Rock" rest with rear bag.  I like it much better than my old lead sled style rest.

img_2014.jpg

img_2013.jpg